7 Pieces of Advice to be a Successful Software Engineer

Sandeep Chahal
Wednesday, December 2 2020
#web
#tech
0

For me, being a software developer is one of the best jobs in the world. I love to code and getting paid for it is just awesome. But the weather isn’t always bright, and I’ve struggled so many times in my career that I’m constantly reflecting on my situation and trying to remind myself what I’m capable of.

To support you and your careers, I’ve written down seven pieces of advice I found to be very important for my career. Spend time trying each of them and see if they help you in your current situation.

1. Don’t Sell Yourself Short

1

This is one of the most important lessons I had to learn, and it took me about 10 years to realize it. These days, if you work in tech, and specifically as a software engineer, you’re a scarce resource. Normally, I don’t like it when people see their staff as resources because they’re humans after all. But in this case, I used the term to underline the importance and to make this as clear as possible for you:

Companies need you, not the other way around.

Let me elaborate on this some more. The U.S. market alone is currently facing a 500,000+ shortage in software developers. This gap will increase exponentially over the next five to 10 years...

read full blog here

Comments

No Comments